Physician mortgage lenders in Canada, compared
Short answer: Canadian physician mortgages come from two channels. Banks such as Scotiabank and RBC run their own healthcare programs, and broker-channel lenders such as RFA offer medical professional programs only through mortgage brokers. Mortgage insurer Canada Guaranty backs medical professional files up to 95% financing.
Banks with healthcare programs
| Bank | Projected income | What they publish | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scotiabank (Healthcare+, with MD Financial Management) | Yes, with sample amounts | Residents years 1 and 2: $185,000. Year 3 and up: $225,000. New family physician: $225,000. New neurosurgeon: $300,000. Pre-approvals for up to four months. | See program → |
| RBC | Yes, no amounts published | Says it considers projected income for physicians. Residents' Royal Credit Line up to $425,000. | See program → |
| TD | Not published in Canada | Healthcare Student Line of Credit up to $400,000, with no principal payments until 24 months after school or residency. | See program → |
| CIBC | Not stated | Preferred mortgage pricing for physicians and a line of credit at prime minus 0.25%. | See program → |
| National Bank | Not stated | Offer for physicians, residents and dentists, including a line of credit at prime minus 0.25%. | See program → |
Broker-channel lenders and insurers
| Lender or insurer | Who qualifies | Key terms | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| RFA Medical Professional | Physicians in training or within 24 months of finishing residency or fellowship. Dentists, vets, optometrists and chiropractors in their last year or recently completed. | Up to 95% financing, loans up to $1,349,999.99, 650 minimum credit score, first 5% from your own savings. | View criteria → |
| Canada Guaranty Medical Professionals Program (mortgage insurer) | Eligible medical professionals, through participating lenders | Up to 95% loan-to-value with standard insurance premiums since November 10, 2025. | Read update → |
Other broker-channel lenders also run medical professional programs. Their terms change often and many are not published, so we confirm current terms directly for each file.
How to compare programs
The headline rate is rarely what decides a physician's mortgage. These five points usually do:
- Projected income amount. A higher qualifying income raises your maximum purchase price.
- How your line of credit is counted. Balance or limit, and at what percentage, can change your approval by tens of thousands of dollars.
- The eligibility window. How long after residency the program still applies.
- Down payment rules. Whether a gift can cover all of it or part must be your own savings.
- Maximum loan and property type. Loan caps, and limits on rentals, suites or second homes.
Read more
- Scotiabank, "Projected income" article (May 25, 2025) →
- Scotiabank, medical residents page →
- RBC, banking for physicians (FAQ) →
- RBC, Royal Credit Line for medical and dental professionals →
- TD, Healthcare Student Line of Credit →
- CIBC, banking for physicians →
- National Bank, offer for doctors →
- RFA, Medical Professional product sheet (dated 06.08.2026) →
- Canada Guaranty, Medical Professionals Program update (effective Nov 10, 2025) →
- Doctors of BC, Scotiabank and MD Financial Management member program →
Lender programs change often. Figures on this page are current as of November 2, 2026 and are examples, not offers. Your approval depends on the lender and your full application.


